Listen Now

Event Speakers

André Picard


Health Reporter and Columnist, The Globe and Mail


André Picard is a health reporter and columnist for The Globe and Mail, where he has been a staff writer since 1987. He is also the author of six bestselling books.

André is a two-time winner of the Columns category at Canada’s National Newspaper Awards, and past winner of prestigious Michener Award for meritorious public service journalism.

He was named Canada’s first Public Health Hero by the Canadian Public Health Association, and a Champion of Mental Health by the Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health. He received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for his dedication to improving healthcare.

André is a graduate of the University of Ottawa and Carleton University, and has received honorary doctorates from eight universities, including UBC and the University of Toronto.


Dr. Jane Barratt


Secretary General, International Federation on Ageing (IFA)


Jane M Barratt, Ph.D. is the Secretary General, International Federation on Ageing (IFA) an international non-government organisation with general consultative status with the United Nations and its agencies including formal relations with the World Health Organisation (WHO).

Population ageing and disability across the life course have been Jane’s passion and interest across an adventurous career that traverses public and private sectors and many disciplines.

During the 1980s and 90s Jane honed her technical and orating skills through an academic career in population ageing and disability at the Universities in the United Kingdom and Australia with attention to improved understanding of population-based planning models and service provision.  Thereafter she developed a successful business in strategic planning and relationships alongside senior director and management positions in various international and national not-for-profit organisations.

Representing over 75 million older people through the membership of the IFA, Jane has direct responsibility for the corporation’s operational performance, quality and strategic implementation, and business development.  This includes leadership at the United Nations Economic and Social Council in New York, Geneva and Vienna and the WHO.

Jane is a Winston Churchill Fellow and recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in Canada in recognition of her commitment and passion to enhance the understanding of issues relating to ageing and engaging in dialogue with governments and the private sector to improve the quality of life of older people.

Among her many current positions Jane is a Member of Vision Academy, Director, Baycrest Health Sciences and Chair of the Education Advisory Committee, Associate Scientist, Sinai Health System, Member, Global Committee for the DR Barometer Program, and Member of the International Council for Adult Immunisation.  Formerly she is a member of the World Economic Forum’s Global Agenda Council on Ageing and until recently Chair, Standing Selection Committee Chair for the Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada.

Dr. Mark Lachman


Vice-President, Medical Affairs, Sinai Health


Dr. Lachmann is the Vice President, Medical Affairs, Sinai Health. He is a geriatric psychiatrist working with patients in acute, rehabilitation, long-term care, and community settings. He is the Geriatric Psychiatry Director for the Provincial Geriatrics Leadership Office in Ontario and sits on the Geriatric and Long Term Care Death Review Committee of the Coroner’s Office. Prior to geriatric psychiatry, Dr. Lachmann worked as a family physician for ten years on James Bay and Baffin Island. Primary clinical and research interests are in cross-cultural community based seniors mental care in urban and rural settings and trauma informed care.

Lisa Raitt


Co-Chair, The Coalition for Better Future


The Honourable Lisa Raitt serves as the co-chair of the Coalition for a Better Future, a diverse
group of Canadian leaders and organizations spanning business, labour and civil society –
working together to achieve a long-term plan for economic growth that is inclusive and

Ms. Raitt brings a wealth of experience from the public and private sectors. She was elected
into the House of Commons in 2008, holding three senior portfolios, serving as Minister of
Natural Resources, Minister of Labour, and Minister of Transport. Most recently, Ms. Raitt was
the Deputy Leader of the Official Opposition and the Conservative Party of Canada.
Having joined CIBC Capital Markets in January 2020, her current role involves senior client
coverage and business development, primarily within the energy, infrastructure, and
industrial sectors. Before her current role, Ms. Raitt was the President and CEO of the
Toronto Port Authority.

Ms. Raitt holds a Bachelor of Science degree from St. Francis Xavier University, a Master’s
degree in Chemistry from the University of Guelph, and a Bachelor of Laws from Osgoode Hall
Law School. She was called to the Ontario bar in 1998.

In 2020, Ms. Raitt was named a Woodrow Wilson Center Global Fellow of the Canada Institute.

Dave Ricks


Chair & CEO, Eli Lilly & Company


Dave Ricks is chair and chief executive officer of Eli Lilly and Company. A Lilly veteran for more than 25 years, with experience in marketing, sales, drug development and international operations, Dave became CEO in January 2017 and was elected chair of the company’s board of directors effective June 2017.

A global biopharmaceutical leader, Lilly has been pioneering life-changing discoveries for nearly 150 years — and today the company’s medicines help more than 51 million people across the globe. Harnessing the power of biotechnology, chemistry and genetic medicine, Lilly scientists are urgently advancing new discoveries to solve some of the world’s most significant health challenges – including diabetes, obesity, Alzheimer’s disease, cancer and debilitating autoimmune diseases. Under Dave’s leadership, Lilly has delivered record R&D output and business results, positioning the company for strong growth and expanded impact on human health around the world.

Dave joined Lilly in 1996 as a business development associate and held several management roles in U.S. marketing and sales before moving into international leadership positions. He led Lilly’s operations as general manager in Canada and China – one of the world’s fastest-growing emerging markets – and then returned as president of Lilly USA, the company’s largest affiliate. In 2012, Dave was promoted to president of Lilly Bio-Medicines, then the company’s largest business unit, overseeing drug development and commercial operations in neuroscience, pain and immunology.

Dave earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Purdue University in 1990 and a Master of Business Administration degree from Indiana University in 1996. Recently, Dave was awarded an honorary doctorate degree in Pharmaceutical Management from Purdue.

Dave serves on the board of directors for Adobe and Business Roundtable. In addition, he is a member of the board and former board chair of Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America. Dave is a member of the International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers & Association’s CEO Steering Committee, The Business Council and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office’s Council for Inclusive Innovation. 

Closer to home, Dave is heavily engaged in the development and well-being of Central Indiana and serves on the executive committee and board of Central Indiana Corporate Partnership.